Rural Developement & Social Work

About Department

Year of Establishment : 1977

Brief History of the Department :
The Department of Rural Development was established in 1977 by the then Sri venkateswara University Autonomous Post Graduate centre, Anantapur. This post-graduate course has the distinction of being the first of its kind in India. The Department has been offering courses allied to Rural Development Sociology (M.A) course was offered since 1981-82 till the formation of Department of Sociology in 1985. Master of Social Work (M.S.W) course was introduced in 1990-91.
The Mission of the Department is to foster and sustain academic, research and extension programmes to promote the quality and strength or Rural Development professionals with the final object of improving the quality of rural life in India.

Contact Us:
Chairman BOS : 255787
Head : 255785
Office : 255786

Head of the Department :

Prof. M. Muninarayanappa

BOS Chairman:

Prof D. Chenna Reddy


Name Designation Mobile Office Email
Dr.V. Reddeppa Reddy Professor 91-9440044922 - -
Dr.G.Sreedhar Professor 91-9440889606 240848
Dr.K.Bhaskar Professor 91-9704282009 - -
Dr.C.Sudhakar Professor 91-9440683822 275622
Dr.D.Chenna Reddy Professor 91-9440547247 223666
6.Dr.M.Muninarayanappa Professor 91-9441575395 255042
Dr.P.Firoz Babu Assistant Professor 91-9885467302 255302

Courses Offered

COURSES OFFERED BY THE DEPARTMENT : M.A., M.Phil., and Ph.D Courses in Rural Development.

M.S.W., M.Phil., and Ph.D in Social Work


Department is actively involved in the evaluation of on going Rural Development Programmes.

1. Workshop and course Structure for PG Courses in Rural Development.
2. Drought in Anantapur District.
3. Employment Generation in Rural Sector.
4. Ecological imbalances in Drought Prone areas.
5. National Seminar on Facets of Rural Development tryst with 21st century.
6. Workshop Vision 2020.